Smartlead review: is it worth it for a sales team or agency sending cold email from many mailboxes?
Smartlead suits an agency or sales team that sends cold email from many mailboxes, because every plan includes unlimited email accounts and you pay by send volume. Base costs $39 a month. Base has no API and caps sends at 6,000 a month, and no security certification was found on its pages.
| Starting price | $39 a month, billed monthly (Base plan, read October 5, 2026) |
|---|---|
| Free plan or trial | Free trial (length not stated) |
| Standout feature | Unlimited email accounts on every plan, priced by send volume |
| Maker | 521 Products Pty Ltd (trading as Smartlead.ai) |
In this review
Who is Smartlead for?
Smartlead is for sales teams and agencies that send cold email from many inboxes and want to add mailboxes without paying per mailbox.
Skip it if your buyer needs a named security certification such as SOC 2, or if you need the API on the cheapest plan: Base has none.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Every plan includes unlimited email accounts, with no per-mailbox or per-seat charge
- All four plans and most add-ons have public prices, monthly and yearly
- Agencies can add white-labelled client workspaces from the Pro plan
- Public API with webhooks and a long integrations list
Cons
- No security certification or status page was found
- Base plan has no API or CRM access and caps sends at 6,000 a month
- White-label workspaces cost $29/month each below Unlimited Prime
- Terms say fees are non-refundable on cancellation
How much does Smartlead cost?
| Plan | Price | Charged per | Main limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Base | $39 a month, billed monthly | Per account | 2,000 contacts; 6,000 Email sends; 2,000 Verified Emails |
| Pro | $94 a month, billed monthly | Per account | 30,000 contacts; 90,000 Email sends; 30,000 Verified Emails |
| Unlimited Smart | $174 a month, billed monthly | Per account | Unlimited contacts; 150,000 Email sends; 50,000 Verified Emails |
| Unlimited Prime | $379 a month, billed monthly | Per account | Unlimited contacts; 500,000 Email sends; 170,000 Verified Emails; 3 SmartServers included |
| Base (Yearly) | $32.50 a month, billed yearly | Per account | 2,000 contacts; 6,000 Email sends; 2,000 Verified Emails |
| Pro (Yearly) | $78.30 a month, billed yearly | Per account | 30,000 contacts; 90,000 Email sends; 30,000 Verified Emails |
| Unlimited Smart (Yearly) | $144.50 a month, billed yearly | Per account | Unlimited contacts; 150,000 Email sends; 50,000 Verified Emails |
| Unlimited Prime (Yearly) | $314.60 a month, billed yearly | Per account | Unlimited contacts; 500,000 Email sends; 170,000 Verified Emails; 3 SmartServers included |
Did we sign up for Smartlead?
How it scored
| Criterion | Weight | Score (1-5) | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Core job | 25% | 3 | Unlimited email accounts, automatic warm-up and sequences with mailbox rotation are documented; not confirmed first-hand. [source 1] [source 2] [source 3] [source 4] |
| Fit for the category's buyer | 20% | 5 | Pricing page names solo founders, sales teams and agencies; every self-serve plan includes unlimited email accounts and warm-up. [source 1] [source 2] |
| Pricing transparency | 20% | 4 | All four plans priced monthly and yearly with limits; most add-ons priced; verification and dialer show starting prices only; trial length not stated. [source 1] [source 2] |
| Setup and time to first result | 15% | 3 | Self-serve trial; own domains need DNS (SPF/DKIM/DMARC) setup unless mailboxes are bought in-app. [source 1] [source 2] [source 3] [source 4] |
| Integrations and data portability | 10% | 4 | 35 integrations listed and a public API with webhooks (Pro and above); no export feature documented in what was read. [source 1] [source 2] [source 3] [source 4] [source 5] |
| Trust, security and support | 10% | 2 | DPA with stated encryption and a support email; no named certification or public status page found. [source 1] [source 2] [source 3] [source 4] [source 5] |
What do Reddit users say about Smartlead?
Reddit threads show mixed to negative sentiment regarding Smartlead, with users discussing issues with its warm-up pool and lead sourcing tool, and comparing it to alternatives like Instantly and lemlist.
I'm pretty happy with smartlead tbh. Pricing seems pretty fair to me....
I have worked with Smart Lead, but in my experience, as I was integrating Smart Lead's APIs with Google Sheets to directly import the leads into the system, their backend APIs were not so clean. I would say it was not reliable from the integration perspective....
Smartlead's answer is honestly ridiculous. Gmail doesn't care those came from a pool. a hard bounce is a hard bounce. That's your 100 to 67 right there....
It's the pre-warmed mailboxes that really got me, felt like I was just burning domains for no reason. I switched everything over to using my own domains with a slow manual warmup and it's been way more consistent. Something about their infrastructure just seems off lately, like they're overpromising and underdelivering on the automation side....
...smartlead's good when you like keeping the control over all things and narrow settings ... I use mostly smartlead for projects because of their auto labels for replies (warm, OOO, interested, information request etc)...
What are the best alternatives to Smartlead?
- lemlist review: Multichannel sequences across email, LinkedIn, calls, and SMS.
- Instantly review: Cold email at volume from many inboxes with warm-up and a lead database.
- Saleshandy: Cold email with unlimited connected mailboxes, unlimited email warm-up and a lead finder. [source]
Where Smartlead is ranked and compared
Frequently asked questions
Does Smartlead charge per mailbox?
Smartlead does not charge per mailbox, as all plans include unlimited email accounts at no extra cost.
How much is Smartlead white-label for agencies?
$29/month per client workspace is the add-on cost for white-labeling, available from the Pro plan.
Does Smartlead have a free trial?
Smartlead offers a free trial on every plan with no credit card required.
Which Smartlead plan includes API access?
API and webhooks are included with the Pro plan and higher tiers.
Is Smartlead SOC 2 certified?
No SOC 2 or other named security certification was found on the public pages read.
Sources
- Smartlead pricing (read )
- Smartlead pricing fact sheet (markdown, generated 2026-07-28) (read )
- Smartlead home page (read )
- Smartlead llms.txt (read )
- Smartlead integrations (read )
- Smartlead email warmup (read )
- Smartlead help center (read )
- Smartlead API reference (read )
- Smartlead API: leads (read )
- Smartlead Data Processing Addendum (read )
- Smartlead privacy policy (read )
- Smartlead terms and conditions (read )
Changelog
- : Drafted with AI assistance and checked against the cited sources. Peter Chen, CEO of Midwest AI Solution Inc., is the editor responsible for this site and its corrections.
- : Published without a hands-on test; the setup score is capped at 3 until one is done.
- : Rewrote the answer in plainer words; the Saleshandy alternative now carries a sourced sentence.