---
title: "What is the best AI voice agent for a local business or restaurant answering inbound calls?"
url: "https://eaiservice.com/best/ai-voice-agents/"
markdown: "https://eaiservice.com/best/ai-voice-agents/index.md"
publisher: "Evaluate AI Service"
owner: "Midwest AI Solution Inc."
editor: "The Evaluate AI Service editors"
datePublished: "2026-10-06"
dateModified: "2026-10-06"
corrections: "corrections@eaiservice.com"
---

Category guide

# What is the best AI voice agent for a local business or restaurant answering inbound calls?

Ranked on published evidence (vendor pages, pricing and user reports), not on our own testing.

Smith.ai AI Receptionist scores highest of the three AI voice agents we ranked in October 2026, at 3.4 of 5, because it has a free plan for 25 calls a month and paid plans from $150 a month. Goodcall is the better pick for a local business that wants calls answered and transferred, from $79 a month per agent. Slang AI suits a restaurant taking phone reservations.

By [The Evaluate AI Service editors](https://eaiservice.com/authors/editor/)

Published October 6, 2026 · Updated October 6, 2026

## Ranked list

Ranked by evidence score. Equal scores share a rank.

Top score in this category

#1

### [Smith.ai AI Receptionist](https://eaiservice.com/reviews/smith-ai/)

AI voice agents

Evidence score 3.4 / 5 (6 of 6 criteria)

Best for

A small firm that wants AI to answer calls, with people as backup

Standout

AI answering backed by a 500+ person live receptionist network under one account

Watch out for

No price is shown for the live-agent add-on

From Free (read October 5, 2026) · Free plan · Self-serve signup: Yes

[Read the Smith.ai AI Receptionist review](https://eaiservice.com/reviews/smith-ai/)

#2

### [Goodcall](https://eaiservice.com/reviews/goodcall/)

AI voice agents

Evidence score 3.3 / 5 (6 of 6 criteria)

Best for

A small business that wants calls answered, messages taken and callers transferred

Standout

Billing counts unique callers per month, not minutes or tokens

Watch out for

The homepage claims calendar sync, but help docs document direct booking only through Boulevard; the Zapier app has no booking action

From $79 a month, billed monthly (read October 5, 2026) · Trial: 14 days · Self-serve signup: Yes

[Read the Goodcall review](https://eaiservice.com/reviews/goodcall/)

#3

### [Slang AI](https://eaiservice.com/reviews/slang-ai/)

AI voice agents

Evidence score 3.1 / 5 (6 of 6 criteria)

Best for

A full-service restaurant or hospitality group that takes phone reservations through OpenTable, Resy, SevenRooms or Yelp

Standout

Phone callers can book, change or cancel reservations directly in the reservation platform the restaurant already uses

Watch out for

No self-serve signup or trial: every plan is "Get a quote"

From By quote; listed from $399 per location; billing period not stated (read October 5, 2026) · Free plan or trial: No · Self-serve signup: No

[Read the Slang AI review](https://eaiservice.com/reviews/slang-ai/)

Show as a table AI voice agents: scored products by evidence scoreRankProductEvidence scoreBest for1[Smith.ai AI Receptionist](https://eaiservice.com/reviews/smith-ai/)3.4 / 5 (6 of 6 criteria)A small firm that wants AI to answer calls, with people as backup2[Goodcall](https://eaiservice.com/reviews/goodcall/)3.3 / 5 (6 of 6 criteria)A small business that wants calls answered, messages taken and callers transferred3[Slang AI](https://eaiservice.com/reviews/slang-ai/)3.1 / 5 (6 of 6 criteria)A full-service restaurant or hospitality group that takes phone reservations through OpenTable, Resy, SevenRooms or Yelp

### Also relevant (not ranked here)

These tools are reviewed and scored in another category, for that category's buyer, so they are not ranked on this page.

- [Popmenu review](https://eaiservice.com/reviews/popmenu/): Online ordering carries a flat $1.00 per order fee rather than a percentage commission. [\[source\]](https://get.popmenu.com/pricing)

## What do these tools cost?

**AI voice agents: entry prices**

| Tool | Entry price | Charged per | Read on | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Goodcall](https://eaiservice.com/reviews/goodcall/) | $79 a month, billed monthly | Per agent | October 5, 2026 | [Goodcall pricing page](https://www.goodcall.com/pricing) |
| [Slang AI](https://eaiservice.com/reviews/slang-ai/) | By quote; listed from $399 per location; billing period not stated | Per location | October 5, 2026 | [Slang AI pricing page](https://www.slang.ai/pricing) |
| [Smith.ai AI Receptionist](https://eaiservice.com/reviews/smith-ai/) | Free | Per account | October 5, 2026 | [Smith.ai AI Receptionist pricing page](https://smith.ai/pricing/ai-receptionist) |

## How we ranked these

### How the evidence score works

- Core job 25%
- Fit for the category's buyer 20%
- Pricing transparency 20%
- Setup and time to first result 15%
- Integrations and data portability 10%
- Trust, security and support 10%

Setup is capped at 3 when a product was not tested hands-on.

Scores use only public sources: vendor pages, pricing pages, documentation and Reddit.

[Read the full methodology](https://eaiservice.com/methodology/)

Scored for: A local business or restaurant answering inbound calls. [Read the methodology](https://eaiservice.com/methodology/)

For a local business or restaurant answering inbound calls, all three answer calls, book appointments or reservations and transfer callers to staff. Smith.ai AI Receptionist ranks first because it publishes more integration evidence and has a free plan; its customer stories are mostly law firms, and restaurants are not among its listed industries.

Goodcall is second. It bills by unique callers, not minutes, documents direct booking only through Boulevard and works only in the USA. Slang AI is third: it is built for full-service restaurants that take phone reservations, but every plan needs a quote and there is no self-serve trial.

None of the three was tested hands-on, so every setup score is capped at 3.

## Frequently asked questions

### Which of these AI voice agents publish their prices?

Goodcall, Slang AI and Smith.ai AI Receptionist publish plan prices.

### Can a business sign up for any of them without a sales call?

Goodcall and Smith.ai AI Receptionist have a self-serve free plan or trial. Slang AI shows no self-serve free plan or trial.

### Which AI voice agent books restaurant reservations?

Slang AI books, changes or cancels reservations in OpenTable, Resy, SevenRooms or Yelp. Every Slang AI plan is sold by quote.

## Sources

- [Smith.ai AI Receptionist pricing](https://smith.ai/pricing/ai-receptionist) (read October 6, 2026)
- [Goodcall pricing](https://www.goodcall.com/pricing) (read October 6, 2026)
- [Slang AI pricing](https://www.slang.ai/pricing) (read October 6, 2026)

## Changelog

- October 6, 2026: First draft written with AI from the cited sources, then checked against them.
- October 6, 2026: First published, ranking the three AI voice agents already reviewed on this site.

## Categories

- [Cold email](https://eaiservice.com/best/cold-email/)
- [AI voice agents](https://eaiservice.com/best/ai-voice-agents/)
- [Influencer marketing](https://eaiservice.com/best/influencer-marketing/)
- [Restaurant marketing](https://eaiservice.com/best/restaurant-marketing/)

## Reviews

- [All reviews](https://eaiservice.com/reviews/)
- [Compare](https://eaiservice.com/compare/)
- [Prices](https://eaiservice.com/prices/)
- [Blog](https://eaiservice.com/blog/)

## About the site

- [About](https://eaiservice.com/about/)
- [Ownership](https://eaiservice.com/ownership/)
- [Advertising](https://eaiservice.com/advertising/)
- [Methodology](https://eaiservice.com/methodology/)
- [Editors](https://eaiservice.com/authors/editor/)
- [Contact](https://eaiservice.com/contact/)
- [Corrections](mailto:corrections@eaiservice.com)
- [Privacy](https://eaiservice.com/privacy/)

## For machines

- [RSS](https://eaiservice.com/rss.xml)
- [llms.txt](https://eaiservice.com/llms.txt)
- [llms-full.txt](https://eaiservice.com/llms-full.txt)
- [Dataset](https://eaiservice.com/data/)
- [Sitemap](https://eaiservice.com/sitemap-index.xml)

[Evaluate AI Service](https://eaiservice.com/)

© 2026 Midwest AI Solution Inc., Atlanta, Georgia. [Who owns this site](https://eaiservice.com/ownership/) · [Corrections](mailto:corrections@eaiservice.com)
